Cover News

COAS Trophy 2074" concludes

A successful and exciting one month of competitive sports fiesta, "COAS Trophy-2074", concluded on September 15, 2017. A ceremony was held to mark the conclusion by Chief of the Army Staff (COAS) General Rajendra Chhetri at Nepali Army Sports Ground.

COAS Gen Chhetri awarded the 'COAS Trophy-2074' to the No 16 Brigade for being the overall champion of the competition. Likewise, Valley Division and Mid division jointly received the first runner-up trophy. In the battalion level, Jagadal battalion, Purano Gorakh battalion and Rajdal battalion respectively stood first, second and third.

COAS Gen Chhetri also presented the Division Level Football Running Shield to Western Division, who secured a victory over the No 16 Brigade in the final match of the running shield football competition.

During the event, COAS Gen Chhetri felicitated three instructors (Kabbadi, Shooting, Handball) and 10 ex-sports personalities of Nepali Army for their contribution in the national and international sports.

Gen Chhetri awarded the 'Nir Samsher JA. Ba. Ra. Trophy' to Corporal Krishna Basnet (Marathon winner), and L/Cpl Lal Bahadur Thapa (10 K.M. winner); "Ajeyabal Trophy (Female)" to Taekwondo Player Gyani Chunara and the "Ajeyabal Trophy (Male)" to athlete Cpl Som Bahadur Kumal during the same event.

During the closing ceremony, Director General of Military Training & Doctrine (DGMT & D), Major Gen Dev Kumar Subedi delivered the closing speech. Ex-COASs of Nepalese Army, high ranking officials of Nepalese Army and other Security Forces, officials of National Sports Council (NSC) and media personnel were present during the occasion.

Nepalese Army believes this kind of sports competition enhances the development of physical fitness, skills, discipline and moral character of a sport person, which ultimately prepare the players to participate and win the national and international sport event.


Latest Radio Program
Latest TV Program
.....More Programs
News Archive
Press Release
Useful Links